Right now, I’m working in a diner. Figuring out how I’ll ever meet my deadlines.

See, I’m co-writing a textbook while completing my review of related literature for an MA subject I asked for an incomplete in. At the same time, I’m preparing for a language proficiency exam in Spanish this November. I’m also preparing my best friend’s bridal shower as I am her maid (man) of honor. I never thought it would be this hard and exciting to organize such a party.

The latter is my priority. I love my job, But the other things required to keep it can sometimes be really taxing. I’m not complaining though. I know where I am right now.

Right now, I’m wondering if the academe is where I want to stay and where I want to devote my life to.

I sometimes feel academicians, intellectuals, tend to problematize everything while inadvertently alienating society whose conditions are supposedly the main reason why thinkers problematize anyway. What benefit will it be to a society who can’t even understand it? Outside the academe is reality where contexts defy and debunk theories and ideologies. Away from the center is where everyday issues exist, problems that are begging for solutions. On the other hand, being in the academe gives you a stronger vantage point from where to look at societal concerns. The academe places you in a position where you have a greater potential to affect change through teaching and conventions for instance. Then, you have research as an important aspect of the academe which situates you in the front line of knowledge assimilation.

I know anyone can affect change within and without the academe. Maybe it’s a matter of what works for an individual, where he finds contentment, productivity, and effectivity as an agent of thinking and change.

Well anyhow, for now I’m just happy eating my comfort food from Chix & Treats–chicken fingers with garlic sour cream dip.

20140906155634Happy Weekend!

2 thoughts on “Where I am Now

Leave a Reply

